
If you’re an iPhone user and have received a Threat Notification from Apple, you’re not alone. According to multiple posts on Reddit, it seems that a number of iPhone users have received this alarming popup. If you have, don’t panic, but it’s still worth knowing what it’s about and what you should do.
iPhone users are reporting Apple Threat Notification
According to the posts, it seems that some iPhone users have suddenly received an Apple Threat Notification on their phone. The message is quite alarming, where Apple claims that it has detected a “mercenary spyware attack targeted at your iPhone.” These notifications are also sent via iMessage and email.
Apple has a support page on these notifications. The company says, “Apple threat notifications are designed to inform and assist users who may have been individually targeted by mercenary spyware attacks, likely because of who they are or what they do.” However, Apple did not disclose the spyware behind these alerts, but the fact that it mentions NSO Group’s Pegasus should give us an idea.
For those unfamiliar, Pegasus is a spyware developed by the NSO Group. It is used to read messages, track locations, and can enable the phone’s camera and microphone without the user’s knowledge. In the past, it has been linked to attacks on individuals like journalists, activists, and politicians.
This is actually not the first time Apple has sent out similar alerts. However, Apple claims that due to the costs and time-sensitive nature of these mercenary spyware attacks, the company says that the vast majority of users will never be targeted.
What should you do?
So if you received these notifications, don’t be so quick to dismiss it. First of all, check your email and iMessage for similar notifications. The email should be sent from “threat-notifications@email.apple.com.” Why is this important? This is because Apple warns there could be fake versions of these alerts out there.
Also, the email or message will never ask you to click a link or download a file or provide your login details. You can also log into your Apple account on the web to verify if you have received it. If it all checks out, you should enable Lockdown Mode and seek a cybersecurity expert who will then advise you on further steps.
The post Got an Apple Threat Notification? Here’s What It Means and What to Do appeared first on Android Headlines.